Runners Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How bad does the weather have to be to stop you from running? I'm facing this dilemma for the first time in my running life: it's raining cats and dogs and I'm not sure about going out for a run or not :( It's not too cold, around 9º. The only good thing is that the beach will be completely empty!!! No kids, frisbees, DOGS, walkers, only me, the sand and the rain :d
Shall I take my sweater or it will only make it worse as a sponge? Shall I take a rain coat? I guess it will make my sweat too much! I don't have any super-technical equipment for running under the rain...
Any advice, encouragement for this coward will be appreciated ;)
Ah, by the way, I'm just a beginner: I do around 6 km in approximately half an hour (I don't manage to extend the length yet), so I wouldn't be exposed to the cats and dogs too long :)

·
Registered
6,493 Posts
If you're thinking about it that much then it's important to you... so get out there!!

I used to feel the same at times, until I got a long term injury and I couldn't run for months. I would have gone out in any condition you care to mention at that time and that's when I realised how important running was to me.

So now it's just a case of dressing appropriately and getting out there.

It is well worth investing in some extra kit that will make you a little more comfortable in bad weather conditions. It doesn't have to be expensive stuff... there are websites full of bargains for runners.

The basics like gloves and maybe a hat are always good. But a Gilet or light windproof jacket are well worth aquiring.

That's not to say that you should wear loads when you go out in bad weather, you need to have just enough on to keep you reasonably comfortable but when you first go out the door you should still feel cold... you'll soon warm up but you don't want to feel too warm.