Runners Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi there!
I have just done my first 10K race in 47min8sec and although I found it tough I enjoyed it and am keen to do some more races. Thing is I'm quite new to running and am not sure how I can get better times. Training wise I have been running between 4-5 miles 4 times a week but since the race last sun my shins are a bit sore so I've been taking it easy. Any advice on how to improve would be great thanks!
sophie

·
Registered
4,539 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
hi there!
I have just done my first 10K race in 47min8sec and although I found it tough I enjoyed it and am keen to do some more races. Thing is I'm quite new to running and am not sure how I can get better times. Training wise I have been running between 4-5 miles 4 times a week but since the race last sun my shins are a bit sore so I've been taking it easy. Any advice on how to improve would be great thanks!
sophie
Your shins are sore as i suspect you have been training on the road a lot. Rest them, then do as much training as you can on grass/trail etc. Train for distance first,you will get quicker naturally,then when you've got 6 months under your belt of consistent running,thats the time to introduce speedwork. I suggest starting off with a "fartlek" session(no jokes please)by this i mean doing 6/8 mls with a lot of surges interspersed within the run.Once you can handle that,then move onto more structured speedwork sessions. Build up your mileage slowly & be consistent & the results will come,good luck !

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks guys for your help - have taken note of what you said so hopefully will see my time improve come my next race!

·
Registered
4,962 Posts