Runners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
93 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just wanted to say hello to all, I am new to runnning only started two weeks ago, at the moment I am doing a run/walk plan and I am really enjoying it. I do it with a friend of mine three mornings a week before work. It is a great way to start the day, and I am looking forward to the days when I can run more. We have entered the 5k race for life in July so have plenty of time to get fit and ready for it. Can anyone give me any good advice or tips, I have brought some good running shoes and I eat quite healthily, but was shocked to find that I have put 2lb on this week cos thought I might have lost a couple of lbs not put it on. I have started running to get fit, tone up and hopefully lose a few pounds too, although I only want to lose about 10lbs ....Karen:d

·
Registered
6,493 Posts
Welcome to the forum Karen :)

It's quite common to put a couple of pounds on when you take up running, but just keep an eye on your food intake. It's easy to eat a little more without realising because the extra exercise obviously makes you a little hungrier. You shouldn't deny that hunger but make sure you satisfy it with low fat healthy snacks.

That's great you've got some good running shoes, and entered an event already... it'll help motivate you

Good luck

·
Banned
2,297 Posts
Welcome to the forum .

It's nice to see another welsh person on the forum we were starting to feel lonely .

As trinity and ed chapman say it'll happen

Don't be a slave to the scales rather judge your weight loss by the clothes you wear.

The mere fact that you are increasing your activity level will help to lose some weight

Keep it up don't do too much too soon and above all enjoy it!!!

Hope to see you racing someday
Take it easy
cheriton;)

·
Registered
835 Posts
Karen,