Runners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How rude of me ;)

I had forgotten to introduce myself before starting my endless list of beginner questions to the patient experienced runners!!! :d I am a postgraduate human rights student in the University of Essex, discovering that my long-assumed truths "I HATE running", "running is boring", and "I can't run if I don't have an angry basketball coach yelling at my back" are out of date.

I'm really happy to discover, at the age of 27, that I actually love running. I've only been doing it for a couple of months, but it's becoming quite a healthy and rewarding "obsession".

Being 6.5 feet tall and weighing 15 stones (yes, I needed a unit converter from cm and kg) I am quite slow :embarrassed:, but I'm used to always being the slowest guy in the basketball team so I can cope with it :asleep:

Thanks for all the information and encouragement, it's helping A LOT so far.
So... nice to meet you all! :p

·
Registered
1,889 Posts
Hello there Jon

Welcome to RF.... nice bunch of people here, good advice etc.... so you become bitten by the bug then :)

I been running since October last year and not stopped running .......... run forest run.... no seriously ... i love the club i joined and the races (most of them)

Dont worry about your height all different sizes and shapes run.. my ex is 6ft 5 and he used to be a cross country runner and it never stopped him... apart from is it cold up there jokes etc.. :p

So welcome to the Forum

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you Leece! I'm impressed by your progression having started only last October:eek:
I guess you were doing other sports before?

LEECE said:
apart from is it cold up there jokes etc.. :p
Well, it happens all the time, everywhere, so... one just gets used to it:asleep: