Runners Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1

Hi All

I'm 29 and live in Scotland with my husband and two kids aged 4 and almost 2.

I started running at New Year - Complete beginner did the whole walk/ run thing for three times per week two weeks and my back started playing up. :embarrassed: Went to physio and was told she thought it was my sacral aileax (spelling?) and told me I have poor core stability and a high hinge point?

I had stopped running as it was uncomfortable - but have been working on the exercises I was given plus have been doing Davina McCalls DVD when I can't get out to run. It has a core stability section to it and I have noticed an improvement. So have hit the roads again.

Here's the thing. I have probably quite stupidly registered to do the Tartan 10k on 26 April and 5k on 16 March and the furthest I have ran is 1.9 miles (in 20 minutes)- I managed to do it without stopping, but only just. I have ran this three times now (different routes). I have got a plan to increase this by 15% each week until then.... but am I kidding myself? I am so keen to do it but need some reassurance that it will be possible.

Should I be cross training? Any tips? or stories of how folk progressed from similar point as me? I need all the encouragement I can get!

Thanks so much.:d

·
Administrator
13,089 Posts
Howdy!! First of all, the 5k won't be a problem at all for you, so don't worry about that. The 10k you WILL finish, but how much of it you run and in what time, all depends on your training up to race day. I still think it's very possible for you to run the whole lot without stopping.