Runners Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there,

I’m desperate for advice, but can I give a quick intro first.

I’m a vet – 62 - and took up running in 1980. Only modest stuff, and nothing more than the occasional half-marathon. While in the Diplomatic Foreign Service I ran in many countries, much of it in the Middle East, hot desert stuff. I’m now retired from the FCO, and work as a research technician.

My running – though modest - has become an integral part of my life, and for some years I’ve been doing a daily 8-miler, before work. Very slow stuff, the first four miles up hill, then a downhill return, with shower and change at the University where I work.

Now, the advice – PLEASE!

Three weeks ago I got back from my morning run. I knew my running had become sloppy - proration(?) - and as I showered I felt rather more than the usual aches and pains. Decided to drive home, went to bed for a couple of hours, then tried to get out of bed. Collapsed on the floor with in agony (thigh and hip), so crawled back to bed. Could hardly move, and for ten days could only crawl round the house on elbows and knees.

Since then it’s been GP-prescribed pain-killers for a week, then a day at A&E for X-Ray and MRI.

Able to stand and walk only after ten days, though presently stiff have vague hip and knee pain, with slight numbness around the knee.

Hospital consultant says the X-Rays and MRI shows nothing of significance – probably trapped nerve in lower vertebrate due to running posture - so just “keep taking the tablets” and wait for consultation with physiotherapist.