Runners Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1,623 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Had quite an interesting visit to the osteopath today. Discovered I've been running with my pelvis 'jammed' on the right hand side (I think it's technically the 'sacroiliac joint' but I'm no professional :p). It was most probably through a mountain biking accident I had about a year ago. Through a bit of manipulation, I had demonstrated to me the way my right hip provided virtually no 'swing' or 'give' compared to the left. It's been putting lots of pressure on my right ankle and knee, both of which have been trying to over-compensate.

I was 'crunched' in a few different directions, both around my lower back and neck; will be having two or three sessions in total. If anybody else has any inexplicable niggles I wouldn't rule out a consultation with an osteopath or chiropractor. It can be a bit pricey but basic health plans usually cover you. I was also told that a video gait analysis or biomechanical assessment might have picked up irregular movement and pointed me in the same direction.

Also found an interesting article on running technique and common causes of problems with running technique.

My last thread in injuries didn't seem to evoke much interest! :(( Hope the above might come in useful to somebody!

Anybody else seen an osteopath? I very much hope I wasn't being told what I wanted to hear so I'd spend my hard earned money; all the crunches in my back seemed to add substance to the theory anyway :d

·
Banned
5,585 Posts
I went to see an Ostepath was suitably crunched and pounded, a while later went to a Chiropractor what a difference. The Osteopath was like a butcher compared to the surgeon like Chiroprator. The Chiroprator is more expensive but worth the extra I'd say.

·
Registered
1,623 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Always interesting, thanks. I will have a proper read later as I am interested in my own problems and possible reasons.