Runners Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I have been resting for three years due to vicious shin split . Now, I have been running for two weeks and my legs feel good.

Right now I am overweight , 103kg /185cm, 38 years

I am sticking to a healthy diet and 30 min run / 3 times a week

Is it reasonable for me at this stage to set a target of 35 min or less for 10k in one year?

My plan is i won't run more than 30 min, but i will try to improve my speed

The second question:
Is it possible for my weight to reach sub 90kg if I hit this target

Thanks

·
Registered
6,493 Posts
Welcome to the forum!

That seems like a tough target for your first year back, especially with trying to lose weight too.

What were your previous times before the injury?

I'm sure you know that tougher the target you set yourself, the higher the injury risk

·
Registered
3,495 Posts
skillipedia said:
Is it reasonable for me at this stage to set a target of 35 min or less for 10k in one year?
Good luck with it, but that is a tough target to set yourself.

Just take your time and dont push yourself into an injury.

·
Registered
9,640 Posts
Hi Welcome to the forum, I agree with trinity and dave, theres nothing wrong with aiming high but if you don't achieve your goals as quickly as you would like it could also leave you feeling a bit demoralised.

Best of luck and keep us posted on your progress.

·
Registered
31 Posts
Hi and welcome Skillipedia

I think your target is achieveable, I started running in January this year (never ran before), had 2 1/2 stone in weight to lose and ran the Plymouth 1/2 marathon, I lost the weight and ran the 1/2 in 2 hours 6 minutes at the end of May. Yes it was hard work, but if you are dedicated and sensible, it can be achieved

Good Luck
Jo

·
Registered
14 Posts
Just do it

Hi skillipedia,