Runners Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,

Courtesy of a Google search I have been directed here and, having had a read through several people's stories, think I may need to contribute some of my own problems!
Having just found employment as a pilot, I am now required to obtain a medical certificate every year from now on for the rest of my flying career. There are no specific areas dictating what exercise I must do and when I must do it, but I thought to myself that this may be a turning point in my life when I should start thinking more seriously about taking better care of myself!
I used to be a keen runner a few years back at high school, but as life became busier I found that I just didn't have the time or motivation to keep up with it.
So earlier on today I decided to have another go and have a run down to the roundabout at the bottom of the main road near where I live and back, a return journey of about one mile. No probs, I thought, it's a nice day! Oh dear, was I in for a self shocker... Less than about 90 seconds into getting settled into a steady pace, I just started to ache all around my abdominal area; best described as a 'stitch' that is in the stomach area as opposed to the side. It was very frustrating, as in cardiovascular and muscular terms I was all raring to go, no problems, but I just found it impossible to run with this pain.

So I'm left wondering, is this a common problem - did it result from not warming up properly? I gave my legs a good stretch but forgot to twist my body and do a few sit ups - is this advisable? Or am I simply pushing myself too hard?