Runners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
707 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Why is it when I'm brimming over the edge with motivation for running and everything else in my life I've lost all motivation to do my work?

I'm doing a PhD and it stresses the hell outta me sometimes, right now I have a symposium presentation about my work to date to do next week - haven't started it, I have a long report to write due in at the end of the month about my work - only done like a quarter of it... in the mean time I have a ton of teaching and moving house to be done in the next few weeks - and the Sheffield Half Marathon. You'd think the stress would make me work, but instead it's stalling me. I've never encountered this before in my life - probably because even as a scummy undergrad I never procrastinated... I dunno what to do :( I tried the not coming on here for a few weeks but I just found that I spent more time just staring in to space...

·
Registered
6,493 Posts
sounds like classic overload to me... give yourself a break

You need to seriously prioritise. Get on with stuff that is most urgent and then give yourself a break or reward when you've done that

Then move onto the next most important priority

I know this is not always as simple as it sounds but when it comes down to the nitty gritty one thing...or the cosequences of not doing that thing... always has an importance over something else, however slight.

As you work down the priorities it will become slightly less stressful and you will feel more in control

·
Registered
3,059 Posts
Yeah, sounds to me like you've just got too much to think about... Like arriving at a cross-road, not being able to decide which way to go, and so ending up not going anywhere. As Trin says: "overload":(

·
Registered
707 Posts
Discussion Starter #4