Votes: 6 46.2%
  • Yes it does

Votes: 7 53.8%

• Total voters
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
I think that it will definately have an effect on your joints but there can't be any worse effects on joints than if your are sedentary and don't use them at all.

Your joints can seize up and i would much rather be working them harder than not at all!!

·
Registered
506 Posts
I'm no expert but I'd say it must knack your joints up eventually if you do too much. I used to work with a guy that used to do 50 odd miles a week and he was only about 50 years old and he said his knees were all shot from years of pounding the streets. That said, I agree with above post about the even wose effects of sedentary lifestyle. Sometimes when I've had a day at home doing nothing I feel really lethergic and sluggish by the end of it, as opposed to the days when I run and feel like I've earned a rest. I'd rather have a crack at staying fit as I get older, definitely.

·
Banned
2,297 Posts
If you do too much of anything'll take it's toll !

There is only one thing that i can think of where an excessive amount might be ok and that's sex !

Memo to self :- must try to do it twice this year:p ;) :d

·
Registered
1,290 Posts
yes of course it is true... overuse and trauma causes soft tissue injuries... i would agree that too much running is bad for you... particularly when you first start... however, the evidence that long term running on joints is not totally clear...