Runners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
:(I have been running Cross Country for about 3 weeks now. The distance we run is 3.1 miles or about 5k. My problem is my strides are to short. My coach says I am taking 2 steps for every 1 step I should take. Which is making me work twice as hard just to keep up. My coach has gave me drills to do but no matter what i do after about 1.5 miles my strides shorten up again. What are some drills or tips or anything to help lengthen out my strides.:(

Please Help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

·
Registered
4,962 Posts
Well, I tend to take short fast strides too and I prefer running this way. Don't know if your strides are way too short, but I tend to think short striding is more efficient and protects the knees. But I'm not a professional coach so what do I know ;) It works for me. I only use long strides if I'm really pushing the pace or sprinting.

·
Registered
1,799 Posts
:(I have been running Cross Country for about 3 weeks now. The distance we run is 3.1 miles or about 5k. My problem is my strides are to short. My coach says I am taking 2 steps for every 1 step I should take. Which is making me work twice as hard just to keep up. My coach has gave me drills to do but no matter what i do after about 1.5 miles my strides shorten up again. What are some drills or tips or anything to help lengthen out my strides.:( Please Help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
We all have our 'optimum' stride length which is difficult to alter. But, if you say you can manage a reasonable stride length for 1.5 miles, then it begins to shorten, I'd put this down to a lack of fitness.