Runners Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,
I’m fairly new to running, I have been doing it for about 10 months and have been happy with my progress. Started with the couch to 5k programme then downloaded a 10K app. I have been doing pretty well and am up to 9k in about an hour. However, for about a fortnight now I feel that I have no energy, my legs feel really heavy and I don’t know why. I haven’t been ill, no injury or anything. What do people suggest I eat or drink to boost my energy levels on running days.
Thanks very much

·
Registered
26 Posts
Hello Angad,
Well done not just for completing the 5k programme but also for continuing to 10k!. My own opinion is that the step from 5k to 10k can be tougher than the 5k.
Without knowing what runs you are doing, my guess is that your lack of stamina has nothing to do with food and drink and more to do with your mental expectations and physical activity. You are trying to hard and your expectations are too high!
You are an endurance runner. To build your endurance so that you can run longer distances is simple. Run slower for longer. While training you should never be out of breath (Quite different when racing) so that you are developing your aerobic energy system. Forget about going for an 8k or 9k run, instead think about time only and go for (say) an hours run or an 80 minute run. Slowly. Much slower than the 6.7min/km you have been doing. Set objectives for every run that are not km based, but could be based for example on time, or to visit an area you have not been before, or to do an out and back to a specific location, or to go and see the forest and enjoy nature.
You will find that you will need to slow down during your run to avoid getting out of breath. That's normal and good, you should not be trying to maintain the same pace.