Runners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
514 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello again

The Nagano Marathon is now just over a month away, on April the 20th and I need some advice please!

My longest run so far was 15k which I did in 1hr35mins. I was pretty tired at the end too! This was a week ago. I shall be running 16k tomorrow with some guys from the team who know all about training. Sounds like we'll jog the 1st half and then pick up the speed to 7 or 6mins per km.

The probem with the Nagano Marathon is you have to complete it in 5hrs and there \are gates along the way too!

Suppose I should just pick up a marathon training schedule and get to work?!

My adductor seems ok although it starts to hurt when running unfortunately.

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
634 Posts
Hi Jolewest

I'm no expert on training schedules etc. but to go from 16K to 42K in a little over a month sounds a bit mad. Actually it sounds really mad...

I thought I was pushing my luck when I did my first marathon last year after completing only 4 long runs (16k, 18k, 20k and 22k) in the 10 weeks before the big day. Having said that I got round in under 5 hours - and I'm 40 and, according to my wife, "slightly chunky".

The only way I got to the end was to take it REALLY easy for the first 30k and then just hang in there for the final 12k. It hurt like hell - but now I can't wait to do another.

Good luck

Slowsteve

·
Registered
514 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the reply Slowsteve.

I have been thinking I'm mad for a while. A groin strain held me back since october....

In JAnuary I did a snow-shoe race with little training before hand - this was a 15k race but apparently it was about the same as running 30k....hmmm it took me quite a while as I didn't run all of it anyway and my fitness level was pretty low!