Runners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
450 Posts
I've been looking at those. You're not new to cliplless I take it? What is sizing like? A lot of cycling shoes vary widely in fit ie you have to go 1 or even 2 sizes above you're normal shoe size.

·
Registered
3,232 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I've been looking at those. You're not new to cliplless I take it? What is sizing like? A lot of cycling shoes vary widely in fit ie you have to go 1 or even 2 sizes above you're normal shoe size.
Actually i am new to clipless and terrified about using them but what the hell , as for sizing i am a uk 8 which is usually a 42 but in shimano shoes a uk 8 is a 43 and they fit perfectly !
Just look at the Shimano sizing chart , it was spot on for me !!!!!

·
Registered
450 Posts
Just got to a car park or somewhere quite and get used to clipping and unclipping.

Cliplless is so much better. Also practice taking your shoes on and off on the bike for a better transition (as I'm sure you know is the point of the single, opposite opening strap)
it is a right b*ll ache trying to walk in spd-sl shoes and you'll likely do your ankles in if you try to run with the bike in transition with your bike shoes on!

·
Registered
487 Posts
nice. Once you have done a bit with SPD's you wonder how you ever got by before with only one half of the stroke being effective….

It becomes one continuous push/pull, it's brilliant. There will be a few heart stoppers where you pull up somewhere and forget your foot is stuck to the peddle haha

·
Registered
3,232 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Thanks chaps , I have read a lot about these things to try and stop those embarrassing moments that might happen when I stop at traffic lights !

·
Registered
450 Posts
Make sure you have the release tension set at its lowest to begin with and practice indoors whilst holding on to a chair or