Runners Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have just got an electric treadmill as an early xmas present, I have got it just to use in the winter, I have had some bad experiences with morons out at night so when weather is bad or its dark I will run in the garage, its great, did 30 mins on it last night to try and I didnt fall off so that was a bonus, Ha :d

·
Registered
3,495 Posts
Good luck with the treadmill Helen,Seems like you`re going to get on with it ok.

But don`t forget to get running outside whenever you can.......:d

·
Registered
9,640 Posts
They are great for doing hill work, unless you don't live anywhere that is flat of course like me! A mole hill is about as hilly as it gets... :d

·
Administrator
13,089 Posts
I found a treadmill really useful when I first started speed work. Helped no end in determining what speeds I should be aiming at for each rep etc :d

Personally I don't enjoy treadmills all that much, but purely because I get bored of staring at the same section of wall or pieces of gym equipment while on it! I managed a 10k once (had never ran 10k before and wanted to be sure I could do the distance before my first race) and I'll never attempt that again unless I have to! lol.

Who knows though, maybe if I had one at home I could do my long runs on there while watching a movie?? :d

·
Registered
20,654 Posts
I use treadmills and don't mind them at all....as long as there is a decent programme on in front of me!

Trained for Stratford Upon Avon marathon mainly on my treadmill...had to do 2 90 mins sessions with just a short break to reset the machine after the first set....it was a good sports tv day!!

·
Administrator
13,089 Posts
Slightly off-topic, but Steve, let me know if you run Stratford again, would be nice to put a name to a face from the forum!