Runners Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

This is my first post and i'm hoping you can help me out.

I started running about 3 months ago after quitting smoking to try and lose a bit of weight. i have been walking/running and i am now running for 30 minutes without stopping, (when i say running i use the term loosely - i am pretty slow). three times a week.

I am not sure what to aim for next - whether to try and speed up, jog for longer, or more often? Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks Peter

·
Registered
1,889 Posts
Well hello Peter, i am fairly new to running being running since October.

I know the others with more experience will answer you in more detail but i would say from my personal experience to jog for longer and build up your stamina first... the speed with come naturally the more you do.

I would not push too much too soon like i did, i have took two steps forward and now one back, but apparently thats running for you.

But welcome to RF.

:)

·
Registered
20,654 Posts
Welcome to RF PeterP.

Sounds like you are progressing well.......Leece is right...don't push too hard too soon.

Find a local running shop to get the right shoes fitted...if not already...and be brave and find a local running, not athletic, club to jopin.

·
Registered
131 Posts
well done on getting started. i started this running alrk about 2 years)ish) ago for similiar reasons. i'm far from being an expert but i'd recommend trying to increase your distance rather than worrying about speed at this stage.

why not try to make increase your time per run by 5mins a week until you get to 60mins constant running. then you might be able to think about a 5 or 10k race.