Runners Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been riding a straight bar road bike for a couple of years, so after Castle Combe Duathlon last month I got an upgrade and bought a Trek 1.5. I took it out for a ride on Monday, and I got a massive blister on the inside of my finger (next to my thumb) which burst on the ride and has been a pain all week as I keep catching it :(

I can only think of 3 possible reasons for this:

1 - I wasn't wearing gloves, but can't see that this would've caused a blister?

2 - I'm holding the bars incorrectly (mainly holding on just above the brakes)

3 - The different type of riding style (and pedals, my previous ones were double sided clips, these just one sided!) caused me to be less confident and resulted in holding on tighter? My arms were aching a bit after which leads me to think this could be the cause.

Does anyone with more experience have any suggestions, or advice on correct riding position on drop bars?

Thanks
Alan

·
Registered
44 Posts
Alan, If your forearms are aching, you are probably holding on too tight...

I tend to hold the brake hoods at a slight angle with the backs of my hands pointing out at around 10 o'clock and 2 o'clock and yes in the past I have developed blisters and even a couple of warts in the area around the base of my thumb.

I don't tend to use the drops much - on the tri bars instead :cool:

If you don't have anything on your handlebars, (lights computers etc) then alternate hooking your hands on the tops of the bars - knuckles pointing forwards.

One tip for bike handling skills is to find a quiet industrial estate on a sunday morning and do laps round it. You can practice corners and brake etc with little traffic around

We blogged a hill climbing session which may help also

http://insidetriathlon.org/?p=64

If you haven't already, think about clipless pedals - they have a learning curve but make such a difference