Runners Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3,304 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
This may sound a little vague and bizarre but I'm intrigued!

Basically, I have been jogging for a couple of years without really taking it seriously, purely for fitness, and have only recently competed in races. I never really time myself or accurately measure how far I run so it could be said that I am not a really serious runner. I have only ever competed in 2 actual races, 10k in May and 5k a couple of weeks ago, and actually did better than expected; 41.08 in the 10k and 19.15 in the 5k(with some hills!)

I eat fairly healthy diet but do eat a lot of sweet/treat type foods so it is not perfect but it is fine for recreational running. I am nearly 25 so am probably past my peak but I am wondering how much I could realistically knock off those times with improved/structured training. Part of me thinks that I could do better but another part thinks that I can't do an awful lot better and they may have been 'lucky' runs. To be honest, I was shattered after both of them so don't think I could have done much more anyway. I guess that running decent times in my first two races is a bad thing as I have set a fairly high standard (relatively speaking) for myself and future runs will not be as good.

Interested in any opinions.

·
Registered
6,493 Posts
Put it this way... I am a 45 year old female and my PB's aren't a huge amount slower than yours... so with structured training, at your age there's masses of room for improvement...if you want it

·
Registered
3,304 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I guess so, but that could mean that you are a very very good 45 year old athlete!