Runners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to running this year and coming up to my first winter. I will definately be running in the evening in the dark. I do stick to main roads, but some of them don't have many people about and are poorly lit. I was thinking about getting a personal attack alarm. Anyone got one they would recommend? Do you take it out with you or does it get left in a drawer most evenings?

·
Premium Member
13,089 Posts
A few things to consider... (partially stemmed from my lack of knowledge on the subject!)

If there's not really anyone around - is a personal alarm going to achieve anything? Will people be able to hear it and recognise it as someone being in distress?

How does it work? I've only ever seen one, which was a cord with a pin going into an electrical device - is it a case of carrying the device along and pulling the pin out when you're in trouble?

Could something else do a more thorough job, such as a mobile phone stashed in a discreet pocket?

As I say, I have little/no experience of these things... so the questions are just things that have come to mind first :)

·
Registered
2,813 Posts
I think the idea is more that it makes such a noise it throws your attacker off guard for long enough for you to get away and summon help- after all, your attacker's not going to wait patiently for you to get your mobile out of your discreet pocket and call 999...

I carry a whistle and a 'phone, but I've not had to use them yet (touch wood).

·
Registered
9,640 Posts
I think the idea is more that it makes such a noise it throws your attacker off guard for long enough for you to get away and summon help- after all, your attacker's not going to wait patiently for you to get your mobile out of your discreet pocket and call 999...

I carry a whistle and a 'phone, but I've not had to use them yet (touch wood).
nicely put Ali.