Runners Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi all, ok so heres the problem, i have been running for about 3 weeks now, haven't run since i left school ten years ago, i do a lot of cycling & couple of months ago i did a big tour of the uk fully loaded so my legs are pretty much built for cycling at the moment.

thing is i always wanted to get into running, so i started with just a mile off road along the river near where i live, i always walk 5-10 mins to warm up, then have a stretch & run the mile then walk for a futher 10mins & strectch afterwards. over the past few weeks i have slowly increased my run to about 2 miles which takes about 20 mins so i'm not pushing at all, but a couple of days ago for some reason both my knees started hurting on the inside (behind) i hardly increased at all on the run before, maybe 200mts extra. it seems to hurt a lot when trying to walk downstairs (have to put weight on the banisters) or if i have been sitting for a while or if i try to fully straighten my legs?? Do you think i have just strained them or something more?!?

i have been running 3 or 4 times a week plus a couple of days on the bike & rest day or 2. do you think i will be ok to continue running or should i just try cutting down my milage a bit? Could anyone point me to somewhere where theres a plan, idealy i'd like to run up 10 miles, how long would it take to build up to this for the average person?

Thanks for your help, Ian

·
Registered
4,539 Posts
during you last run that was ok, what were the conditions like underfoot?

my gut feeling its a tweak/ twist and i would be surprised if the increase in distance was too sudden, although its not impossible.

·
Registered
4,539 Posts
also.. what shoes are you wearing?

at least running off road you wont need to worry as much about gait/ pronation but if your wearing road shoes off road that can cause problems

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #5