Runners Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I have just signed in today and as you can see I'm a complete novice! I have lost a lot of weight since I started running but the loss has started to slow in the last couple of weeks. That in itself isn't bothering me but the one thing that I am really struggling on is when and what to eat before a run? And also during the run? Is water best? My runs are generally between 30 and 45 minutes.

Thanks for any help/suggestions!

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hello,

My weight when starting was exactly the same as yours! I am down to 16-8 but would still like to lose another stone. Any tips?

Thanks.

·
Registered
707 Posts
Hey, personally I don't eat anything before a run, unless it's over 12 miles, in which case 2 hours before I have a slice of toast with some honey on it/plain alpen bar, also unless it's over 7 miles I generally don't bother taking any fluid (unless it's very very hot) or food and when I do take fluid its just a pouch of lucozade sport (its the right volume and is handy for carrying about scrunched up in the pocket of my shorts heh), over 12 miles also I might consider an energy gel midway... this is all from my own experiences though, so perhaps it's best to try out different things/times and keep a note of it and your performances/weight loss or whatever you're more interested in... I think a general rule though is something very light, like a yoghurt or something, a good couple of hours before you head out, lest you get a stitch/runners runs.

·
Registered
16,463 Posts
My take:

To lose weight energy out must be more than energy in.

I try to eat normally but have cut out a lot of little snacks and upped my exercise from none.

That's it. Nothing special.

·
Registered
378 Posts
Hrun is right.
I've cut out the junk and eat way more fruit now.
Just eat healthily and run. The weight should go.