Runners Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
1,795 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi folks . I think we covered this before but I cant find the posts. went out for my first spring ride today on my new bike and got puctures. I think I bought the wrong tyres over the winter as they feel as thin as paper! can anyone recommend good tyres that don't puncture every mile . Im no expert and don't need maximum speed. its for a road bike 700x25 size or 28x 1.00 Halfords carerra cheapo! any thanks.

·
Registered
2,128 Posts
I use continental gatorskins, hardly ever get punctures but feel a bit slippery in the wet.
definitely.... was amazed how little grip they had when i got some... can't wait to wear the buggers out.

·
Registered
1,795 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Or maybe you need some rim tape?
nah its got that. the tyes I got felt like paper! says schwalbe durano etape. any one know this tyre? stuck the old worn ones back on that came with the wheels for just now. they feel solid BEFORE they are inflated! someone told me continental 4000s but they seem to cost more than my car tyres.:confused:

·
Registered
1,636 Posts
Gatorskins are the perennial favourite, and what I use. They're not indestructible though; I've had plenty of glass through them on the paths here, but I imagine if I stuck to the roads they'd be ok.

·
Registered
1,795 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Gatorskins are the perennial favourite, and what I use. They're not indestructible though; I've had plenty of glass through them on the paths here, but I imagine if I stuck to the roads they'd be ok.
:tup: seems like the way to go. cheers.

·
Registered
2,128 Posts
You'll do better if you actually check your tyres too... even if a thorn or shard doesn't give you a puncture straight away if you leave it in it can work it's way through until it does. Similarly leaving an open gash in the outer rubber is also leaving you more open to a puncture.