Runners Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I'm starting at the back and I'm sulking. :(

there were 5 categorys on the form, the last 2 were 2h30, then 2h30+, back in april when i entered, i put 2h30+ because I had never ran the distance before. somone else i know running ticked the box 2h30, he is number 2000 odd. I am 12000 odd!!

They group you into colours, and my colour starts at the very back. I know it doesn't affect your time.

But everyone will think I am just a slow coach running with the rhino and scooby doo's and beer belly people.

Is that how these races work - you need to stick with your colour rather than the time you think you'll finish?

grump grump

·
Registered
3,221 Posts
I'm starting at the back and I'm sulking. :(

there were 5 categorys on the form, the last 2 were 2h30, then 2h30+, back in april when i entered, i put 2h30+ because I had never ran the distance before. somone else i know running ticked the box 2h30, he is number 2000 odd. I am 12000 odd!!

They group you into colours, and my colour starts at the very back. I know it doesn't affect your time.

But everyone will think I am just a slow coach running with the rhino and scooby doo's and beer belly people.

Is that how these races work - you need to stick with your colour rather than the time you think you'll finish?

grump grump
Just think how you'll feel when you overtake all the scooby doo's - there is no worse feeling than being overtaken by someone wearing several kilos of fancy dress, I can assure you, so starting even with them should negate that possibility :lol:

·
Registered
3,339 Posts
If its the london Marathon you're talking about,you do need to stick to the colour penn that you have been allocated, but if you are sure that you can run faster than you originally thought, there is nothing preventing you from moving nearer the front.

Most people will finish 2:30plus anyway!