Runners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hiya!!!

Im a complete newbie to running. After having a baby a year ago i have starting seeing a personal trainer, to loose the last stone, and he suggested i go for a run at the weekend (only 10 minutes).

Now i thought it would be easy, so i stretched (as instructed), walked for a couple of minutes and took off at a steady pace, after about 4 minutes i had to stop and could hardly catch my breath! My throat was really sore and i ended up walking for a minute and then trying to run the rest of the way!!!!!!

I feel such a failure and it has put me off doing it again, only problem is my trainer wants to take me running again this week and im dreading it!!!!

Any tips with relation to breathing, technique, etc!

(sorry to ramble on!)

·
Registered
3,059 Posts
Sounds like you were possibly trying too hard. It should be possible for you to hold a conversation as you run (yes, I realise you may be on your own, but this is a usual measurement for regulating pace judgement). If you haven't the breath to do this, then you're going too fast.
Don't worry about having to walk. You'll find that if you slow your initial pace, the necessity to walk will decrease. :)
Just keep up the good work. It WILL get easier. ;)

A

·
0 Posts
Bevos said:
Hiya!!!

Im a complete newbie to running. After having a baby a year ago i have starting seeing a personal trainer, to loose the last stone, and he suggested i go for a run at the weekend (only 10 minutes).

Now i thought it would be easy, so i stretched (as instructed), walked for a couple of minutes and took off at a steady pace, after about 4 minutes i had to stop and could hardly catch my breath! My throat was really sore and i ended up walking for a minute and then trying to run the rest of the way!!!!!!