Runners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Dear All

I am brand new to this running game and have been at it for a few weeks now looking to enter a half marathon in Nov then hopefully London next year.

I am finding the physical side of the running ok however the mental bit is killing me. Does anyone have any golden tips about how to metally get through the time?

I have tried building a house from the bottom up in my head (a trick used by the army when undergoing interrogation apprently) however this is ok once but not regulalry. Any ideas??

Looking forward to some interesting answer.

cheers

·
Administrator
13,089 Posts
Hi manxleigh, firstly I assume you're running outside and not on the treadmill? If you're on the treadmill, then that'd be the reason for your boredom, so get outside!

I have so many thoughts running through my head while I'm running I simply don't get bored - anything from remembering what bills etc need paying, to some kind of master plan to improve my career, to what I'm trying to achieve with this run, when my next run is, what my training goals are etc...

Sorry - I guess that's not much of an answer, but if you can't find anything to think of while you're running then I really envy what must be a fairly stress free life! heheh ;)

·
Registered
2,437 Posts
Maybe find a local running club and run with a group of people, or failing that listen to some music on an Ipod or similar device.

·
Registered
147 Posts
When I started running, I found it too boring and nearly stopped.

But I decided to try listening to an audio book whilst running and found it helped - a few times I ran for longer because I was so caught up in the story.

Now, I'm hooked on running and I no longer need to listen to a book.

To think, I owe it all to Bram Stoker...

·
Registered
16 Posts