Runners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,

I'm already impressed by the expertise in this forum (ultra-marathons :eek: didn't even know that EXISTED!), and I'd like to ask if you think rest days are always necessary or you only take them if you feel the need.

I'm on holidays now (well, "tricky" holidays, :mad: having to make two take home exams), so I'm finding the time and motivation to run every day. Not much, I'm a total beginner :embarrassed: so I'm doing around 6 km in about 30 min*. On the days when I have a basketball practice I'm running to and from the sports hall (2.3 km in 10-11 minutes).

So.... shall I take rest days? For the moment I feel fine, I do feel stiffness but nothing that I can't bare.

Thanks in advance for your advice!!! :d

Lazy Jon

* I have to say in my favour that I run on the sand, sometimes exposed to totally extreme conditions (rain, wind :cool: ) and that my route includes one pedestrian cross on the way to the beach that stops me for around 15 secs ;)

·
Premium Member
13,089 Posts
I'd recommend factoring in rest... you'll improve by allowing your body to strengthen which means damaging muscle fibres (through exercise) and allowing them to repair - the body will naturally adapt by repairing them stronger than they previously were. Without sufficient rest the muscles don't get a decent chance to repair and therefore you're limiting your improvements.

There's a fine line between an optimum training level and causing muscle fatigue - my concern would be that if you're playing basketball too, requiring explosive bursts of energy and power from the muscles, you're at a higher risk of straining/tearing something if you're muscles are constantly fatigued.

Of course, use your common sense as well, you don't always need total rest... but if you look at virtually all running training schedules, they include rest days and also an easier week of training every 4 weeks or so.