Runners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
1,290 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How many of you only run on the roads?

I've been overdoing the running as very stressed with exams...

Is it a bad idea to be road running long term - i do ~25 miles a week?

·
Registered
4,962 Posts
My usual routes are 90% roads. I have been running between 25-40 miles per week on roads for almost 2 years and never had a problem. But some people are more susceptible to injuries on roads.

·
Registered
1,290 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
you are just lucky...

what would you do, say, if you had a sprained R ankle that got better... then worse... then better... then worse... then better... etc.

because i'm not sure what to do now... rest, run less or carry on as ususal... it's driving me nuts... :S

·
Registered
42 Posts
I was doing nearly 100 miles a week on roads and no worries

·
Registered
3,059 Posts
100 miles a week is actually further than an average 14 miles per day. And if you're trying to fit that kind of mileage in through the winter months around a full-time job, most of it will be on the roads (and in the dark, I found).:)

·
Registered
110 Posts
Hi Revenged,

I am only a begginner and have only been running since feb, just up to 3 miles now and up until yesterday i have only been road running, however i went to the gym yesterday and did 3 miles on the treadmill and found it so much easier. i don't know if you get less injury's on the treadmill than the road?

Forest

·
Registered
42 Posts
pedestrian said:
100 miles a week is actually further than an average 14 miles per day. And if you're trying to fit that kind of mileage in through the winter months around a full-time job, most of it will be on the roads (and in the dark, I found).:)

No I was training full time in the Army twice a day ... some long runs first thing .. 10 milers and track work and ALL on roads or should I say paths as running on the road might be silly ...

·
Registered
20,654 Posts