Runners Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How long should you wait before running?

I have had a nasty virus, full of cold, sore throat, etc.... for the last 9 days or so. I am still abit bunged up and sore throat now & again but I am dying to get running and start my training.:p

·
Banned
2,297 Posts
Hi JING ,Just get back out there, the running will help to clear the gunk 9 days sounds like the classic 3 days coming three days with you three days going.

Take it easy

Cheriton;)

P.s there is a recent thread on here " running with a cold " would be worth a look

·
Registered
20,654 Posts
You should be ok to go Jing...just take it easy at first to allow your body to get used to running again.

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thank you very much, I might get out there then tomorrow. I am very new to running so haven't really started yet and I have my 5k in June;)

·
Banned
2,297 Posts
Which 5 k are you doing?

june that's plenty of time to prepare as well :)

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter #7

I went out this morning, I am so new to running, I am not sure how far I ran but I wasn't out that long:p

·
Banned
2,297 Posts
Good luck for that !!:)

The fact that your out there running no matter what the distance is great .

There are plenty of shedules to follow if you choose to use them on the net just google (other search engines are available) 5 k schedules or training programmes you'll get load s . Runners world do some as well .

There's a site called map my run..where you can plot your run lt'll give you an idea of how far you've run.

Any questions you have or advice just ask away we're a pretty helpful bunch on here.

Take it easy

Cheriton

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
Thanks so much.

I just worked out I did 2.6km in 15 mins on my first run today, not sure if its a good time or anything but I didn't realise I had run that far, lol! My aim is to run 5km soon.

·
Registered