Runners Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
131 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
looking for a bit of advice here.

i have to say that the idea of joining a running club has always held little appeal for me for 2 main reasons;

a. although i have been running for a couple of years now i still consider myself to be a rank amateur. the idea of going running with a bunch of people far ahead of me in tems of ability is frankly intimidating.

b. one of the things i enjoy about running is the solitude of it just being me, my music and the road. i find the idea of having others with me unappealing.

however i am interested in improving my performance and i know a lot of people on here with more experience and ability than me find them useful in doing so.

what should I do?

·
Registered
20,654 Posts
I always advocate joining a club....it helps with your motivation for a start and although you could probably still run by yourself on a club night you're likely to find someone who runs at your pace/slightly faster than you which will help you progress.

I would suggest finding a running, as opposed to an athletic, club...normally less intense and more social.

A decent club should welcome runners of all abilities.

·
Premium Member
13,089 Posts
As steve says, most clubs will cater for all abilities, worth calling beforehand just to make sure they have a group you can head out with, but it'll be fine :)

Few other points:
- You can still enjoy your runs on your own... you don't have to make every run a club run ;)
- You can improve your performance on your own, without joining a club - though personally I find it easier to run faster for extended periods when in a group
- I still find my mind goes off on it's own, and unless you're engaging in a chat with someone, everyone tends to be in their own little running bubble. It's not an unpleasant experience at all :)