Runners Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Dan at Runner's Forum has kindly said I can post extracts from my book, Running on Empty here. I hope you all enjoy them. They are meant to reflect the rather nutty life I led while I was training. For me as a total beginner it was a steep learning curve, and I felt a fraud most of the way through. But fraud or not, I did manage to run a marathon and I hope it won't be the last I run!

It's also not to late to join my competition, for which entries are coming in hot and fast. Suggestions so far include: Keep on Running, Ready to Run, and my particular favourite: Highway to Hell. So go on, send me an email at [email protected]... you know it makes sense!

I've had to cut this in half, so here's Part One

Running on Empty: Diary of a Marathon Mum

Introduction

Let's get one thing straight. I am not a runner and I have never regarded myself as exceptionally sporty. In fact, apart from one glorious summer when I discovered I was quite good at the high jump, I don't think I have ever spent much time in my youth doing anything athletic. Think of the geeky kid with the National Health specs, who was always chosen last for the rounders team, and that pretty much sums up my sporting career while I was at school. I hated PE and did my damnedest to avoid it. So what turned me - a serial non-runner - into the kind of idiot who thinks she can run a marathon? Here is my story of how I - the unlikeliest marathon runner in the world - managed to do it, which I hope will inspire you to take up a similar challenge of your own.

Having said I was unsporty, my teens were dominated by tennis, which I played endlessly with my brother, and swimming, which I still love. Neither of which, though, felt remotely as if it had anything to do with organized sport - they were pastimes for home which I enjoyed, that was all.