Runners Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the running world. I have been training for a half marathon for about 4 months now and will be running my first here in 3 weeks. I am looking for suggestions on a good pair of running shorts that won't ride up in the crotch. I am 5'4'' and currently 150 pounds. I have larger thighs and they do tend to touch a bit towards my crotch. I would like to find a great pair of spandex shorts that don't ride up so I can complete my half marathon without the dreaded chaffing or having to pull them down every so often. Any suggestions would be extremely helpful. Thank you in advance.

·
Registered
844 Posts
Quite a few makers do ones with an inner cycle short or compression type liner, with a loose short over. These might help, especially to keep a bit warmer this time of year.

·
Registered
110 Posts
I'm slightly heavier and slightly taller than you and carry a fair bit of weight on my thighs, so possibly similar to you. I have eventually settled on short but not fitted shorts and anti-chafing gel (I use the cheap Decathlon version). Shorts like these:

http://store.nike.com/gb/en_gb/pd/7-5cm-modern-embossed-tempo-running-shorts/pid-10340084/pgid-11076043

Compression-style and fitted lycra shorts still end up riding up for me - or the Salomon 2 in 1 shorts and the fitted Decathlon shorts I tried did.

·
Registered
18 Posts
I'm slightly heavier and slightly taller than you and carry a fair bit of weight on my thighs, so possibly similar to you. I have eventually settled on short but not fitted shorts and anti-chafing gel (I use the cheap Decathlon version). Shorts like these:

http://store.nike.com/gb/en_gb/pd/7-5cm-modern-embossed-tempo-running-shorts/pid-10340084/pgid-11076043

Compression-style and fitted lycra shorts still end up riding up for me - or the Salomon 2 in 1 shorts and the fitted Decathlon shorts I tried did.