Runners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a relative beginner to running, and was just wondering are running socks important? I understand a decent pair of trainers are but haven't bothered with running socks thus far??

·
Registered
147 Posts
I haven't bothered in the past; never had any trouble with blisters or anything like that so I didn't see any need for them.

Although, I was trying on a pair of trainers in a running shop 2 weeks ago and they lent me a pair of socks because I'd gone in wearing sandals. The socks were sooooo nice :) especially as I only ever buy the cheapest of the cheap when it comes to socks. I've now bought 3 pairs since they were on offer, but haven't been out running yet to notice a difference.

·
Banned
5,585 Posts
I'd have to say yes they are important. Not much point spending time and money getting the right trainers and just putting any old socks on. I've got a pair of Sky Run socks and they have outlasted 3 pairs of trainers. Feel better on too. Worth every penny.

·
Registered
664 Posts
Agree with Squint, started off using any old sports socks, but having tried proper running socks wouldn't consider anything else now.

·
Registered
835 Posts
Can't say that it matters, probably a case of whatever you feel most comfortable with. Personally, I wear a pair of trainer liners (cheap sports ones from sportsworld)

·
Registered
16,463 Posts
I think it all depends on your level. You state you are a beginner and if that means a one mile run/walkthree times a week it probably makes no difference.

Once the mileage goes up and you spend more time on your feet then comfort becomes more of an issue as you battle blisters etc.

·
Registered
2,437 Posts
I have a couple of pairs but have never really noticed the difference between these and thick 'sports' socks.

·
Premium Member
13,089 Posts