Runners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
93 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All, as I am only on week four of my run/walk program, i am still a beginner and not sure what I should and shouldn't do. I felt ill yesterday, and woke up this morning (on my running morning) still feeling a bit rough with headache, nausea and sore throat. I wasn't sure whether I should still go out for my run/walk, but went anyway. I did feel a little low on energy and found it a bit harder than usual, but the fresh air made me feel a bit better and I managed to get through it. I normally come back and after my shower have a big bowl of porridge, but gave the porridge a miss as the nausea was still there. Did I do the right thing going out? I didn't want to miss my session and risk giving up (although I dont think i would give up cos I am really enjoying it) Or was I right to carry on? Any advice would be greatly appreciated :)

·
Administrator
13,089 Posts
There's been a few threads like this in the not too distant past Karen. Truth be told there is no right or wrong answer. Some people believe it's a bad idea to exercise when you're under the weather, some can't see a problem.

Personally I find if I'm well enough to be up and about then I'm well enough to run, and usually the run gives me a lift and makes me feel a bit better (though may just be psychological). I can't think of an occaision where I've ran whilst under the whether and suffered further as a result!

·
Registered
2,437 Posts
Agree with Rich, there's really no roght or wrong answer to this, my advbice woulf be go out, take it steady and listen to your body. If you fell really bad after a short while then just turn round and walk home, if not - carry on and enjoy the session.

·
Registered
10,185 Posts
I'm off the opposite opinion to the two gents above. Firstly, the illness makes it harder to revocer from training and if you're training with anyone else, they're more susceptible to picking up your lurgy.