Runners Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Should you? I have had the start of a cold for a few days now. I have still run as usual. Found it a little bit more hard going than normal but still enjoyable. Funnily enough, when I think about going to work I feel quite unwell with my "cold" but when I think about going for a run, I feel not too bad and am raring to go. As a newbie I haven't had any illness since I started running this summer. What do the rest of you do if you are a bit under the weather? Train through or rest up?

·
Registered
1,073 Posts
I go against all advice and train (run, swim or both) when I have a cold. However, I had a bad stomach bug a few weeks ago and didn't manage anything for 3 or 4 days. Actually I have had the start of a sore throat the last couple of days and as I don't feel ill with it I have swam and run (and cycled to, from and during work) as per normal. I think the secret is to listen to your body; maybe lower the intensity and take heed of what it is saying.

Does that make sense?

·
Registered
664 Posts
If it is just the sniffles, then yes I carry on training (what with open plan offices and public transport you'd miss half the winter otherwise).

·
Registered
835 Posts
Get out there, nothing better than fresh air for a cold. I agree with zanshin on the stomach bug, lay off the training until the stomach belongs to you again.

·
Registered
41 Posts
I've had a horrific cold for the last week...head was pounding too much so didn't run for 4 days. Am not totally better now but I did enjoy the run and it certainly gets the snot flowing.

Better out than in!!!

·
Registered
2,813 Posts
Isn't there something about you're OK to exercise if your symptoms are above your neck but not if they're below it, or something?

·
Registered
41 Posts
Sounds like a sensible approach. Although, my cough is chesty so does that mean I shouldn't be running?