Runners Forum banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi guys,

I've been running for the last 3 months as cross-training for football and badminton, and a very steady progression has taken place. I ran 4 miles at a time, and on average 4 times a week to begin with. I felt I had to kick start the fitness thing this way in case it petered out immediately. I'm not an advocate of the notion that too much too soon kills the desire, motivation or confidence - well, perhaps it does for some but in fact it does the opposite to me (the more effort I've made in the past the more committed I feel, i.e. starting a plan of one run per week after a while I don't feel I've put a lot in the bank so not much will be lost if I get lazy!).

Then after Christmas it went down to 2-3 times a week (on days when I don't do sport) and things have stayed hunkey dorey since then. I feel that NOT being tied down to a schedule is better for me; I don't imagine a running overlord with an iron fist watching over my progress, so I run more freely and enjoy it more, doing it when I feel like (and the fitter I get the more I feel like it). In fact I think that even though I'm doing it less often right now i'm still seeing the same fitness improvements - recently when I run, I run hard. Many people would say that an "easy" day is needed every so often, but I treat a few fun games of sport as an "easy" day.