Runners Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know this sounds daft, but I'm very new to running........... Did 2 miles yesterday and barely ache today - is this wrong? I usually ache the day after the gym!

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I'm in decent shape as I go to the gym a lot. I didn't go flat out - was trying to pace myself. I did feel tired at the end - just don't seem to hurt today like I expected! It was on the flat round a lake.

·
Banned
2,297 Posts
Keep The Distances Reasonable To Short And Gradually Build Them Up To Hopefully Stay Injury Free There Are Plenty Of Running Schedules Available Free For All Abilities
Good Luck With Your Training Sounds Like Your Doing Things Right Already!

Take It Easy
Cheriton
Oops Caps Lock On !!

·
Registered
3,059 Posts
ellerose said:
I know this sounds daft, but I'm very new to running........... Did 2 miles yesterday and barely ache today - is this wrong? I usually ache the day after the gym!

Pain or aching generally occurs as a result of over exertion, which of course is all relative to how accustomed to a particular exercise regime you are. At any given time, we all have a physical limit to our capabilities; and when we exert ourselves too much beyond those boundaries, we damage muscle fibres. :eek: No, this isn't as serious as it sounds... The damage takes the form of micro-trauma, where the tiny fibres which comprise the muscles, are torn. (This is on a microscopic level, remember). As the body begins repairing itself, scar tissue is formed on the muscle fibres. Scar tissue is inflexible, which means that when the damaged muscles are used, the scar tissue isn't able to work as smoothly as the undamaged parts of the muscle: in fact, sort of pulling against them... causing the pain of "tired" muscles.