Runners Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I hope nobody minds that I have started a new thread to ask a few questions. I've been scanning the threads on here for a little while and thought I'd take the leap and ask for some advice.I am a complete novice runner although have done lots of running on treadmills over the past 3 years. I am now starting to make the transition to the great outdoors, which is considerably harder!

I went to Ironbridge runners in Exeter today to get some new trainers as mine are about 3 years old and came away with some Saucony Grid Stabil MC 5 (if that means anything to anyone...). The lady in the shop said I over pronate and these are supportive. The thing that confuses me is that in an ordinary shoe I am a size 6 and in my current trainers (Etonic) I am a 6 1/2 and yet when she fitted me she said I should be wearing a 7 1/2 for running. They have at least a half inch clear at the front and there seems to be quite a bit of room at the side of my foot at the front. I ran on the treadmill in the shop and they seemed fine but will they stretch and be baggy once I've worn them a few times - they cost £70 and I really can't afford for them not to last. Is it normal for trainers to be so much bigger than normal shoes???

The other question is should I buy a heart rate monitor as she said I was running too fast and my strides were too big also that I should run at a pace that is comfortable. I didn't know whether I should get used to running before buying one or whether this will just start bad habits.

I've entered the race for life in July as an initial goal and intend to run all of it but just want to make sure I'm doing everything right!

Any advice would be very much appreciated.

Thanks,

YG

·
Banned
2,297 Posts
yorkshire-girl said:
Hi all,