Runners Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys,
To be honest I'm completely new to running, recently decided I need to lose some weight and improve my fitness.
I'm 33, I'm not massively overweight but could certainly lose a few Kg, and I have a fairly physical job/hobbies so in terms of strength and general health I'm not perfect but not too bad..
However after trying to go for a run I've found out I'm surprisingly unfit.. :( now I'm sure many of you guys are seasoned pros, and hopefully I'll get there, but I'm not there yet so wanted some advice on starting up.
I can run at an OK jogging pace for about 5 minutes, that's all. Now I can't help but wonder if thats really worth doing, should I do a brisk walk for say half an hour or continue with the jogging increasing the time as I'm able to?
Will 5 minutes jogging really help me or should I change the way I approach this?
I've recently changed eating habits too so hopefully that should also help.
I have no intention of giving up, just after some advice on how best to achieve my goal :)
Sorry for the long post, hopefully you will get what I'm going for.
Thanks for the time.
James

Sent from my D6603 using Tapatalk

·
Banned
9 Posts
I highly suggest don't do things abruptly as you would strain yourself. I think that brisk walking would help and eating the right kind of food is absolutely the best tip.

·
Registered
184 Posts
Hi James I think most people start by walking and running. Have you looked at the c25k ? If that does not interest you carry on walk running and your time running will soon improve. Don't try to increase to quickly and run slowly . Endurance and speed will soon follow.
Good luck and welcome to the forum.

·
Registered
993 Posts
Hi James, I would also really recommend C25K. Then there is a follow-on program to take you to 10K.

·
Registered
76 Posts
Hi guys,