Runners Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm very new to running and just wondering if this is normal. I find when I run, after a while I get a strange sort of... metalic taste at the back of my throat that doesn't go away for a long time after I stop. Is this normal, or am I running too fast too soon or something ^^; thanks!

·
Registered
298 Posts
Do you notice alot of Chemtrail spraying around your area? :)

:p

It has been said that when some people are suffering from anxiety they experience this, so perhaps something to do with the increased blood flow and vessels near the surface of your throat / mouth ?? Just a wild guess of course.........

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I've taken to drinking peach water lol it's just a little less dull than normal water. I probably don't drink as much as I should while running, and this 26C weather isn't helping much either.
I was just concerned because I don't get the taste when I lightly jog.

·
Registered
10,185 Posts
I used to get this after running too. I agree with Owain about possible dehydration, and would suggest making sure you drink enough liquid after your run. I'd also suggest taking a drink with you on your long runs.

·
Registered
133 Posts
My husband used to get it. He says that you need to take fluid out with you. He was told its where you're not producing enough saliva because you're dehydrated. If you smoke it makes the problem worse.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Buns of steel? In my throat!? O,O!! That's enough to make me stop lol. I've had to put running on hold for the last 3 days >< The damn heat/humidity is sapping my energy before I even do anything and I'm starting to worry about losing any progress I may have made... Of course it would be easier to measure progress if I could understand what my treadmill was saying to me on its evil screen.