Runners Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
130 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi,

I use Strava to record my runs even though i have a Garmin watch and it records on Connect.

I'm still relatively new to running, run on my own and prefer it that way - but i like how others can see my runs, and me see theirs. It sometimes gives me the kick up the backside i need to get out there when i see the data from others, but also i feel good when others acknowledge my runs with kudos..... saying all that i have less than half a dozen followers lol

So, i get the message that premium has changed the Summit. I couldn't see the benefit of premium to be honest, as the basic Strava did all i wanted and more with the PR's and segments.

Just wondered what others thought of Summit and if they are thinking of upgrading, or those on premium now thinking of not wanting to renew to Summit?

Sorry, another question - is it ok to just follow someone on Strava? Just i look at the segments and can see other runners in my area with around the same time, so am interested in how they get on, if they still run - but don't know if it's frowned upon for someone to just start following you - i don't think there is a way to explain with a message that i'm local and just generally interested?

·
Registered
5,422 Posts
I've never been bothered by the subscriber features but I was looking at the the details of a friends Strava activity (race) and because of the Summit changes, I can't see the race analysis anymore unless I subscribe as well (he's a subscriber already) so I started looking at the features again last night.
The features are broken down into three sections (https://www.strava.com/summit/join#pace-zone-analysis), each for about £1.50 per month so you can pick and choose the elements you want or don't want, for all it's currently £4 per month but I think the only one I'd use is the Training pack.