Runners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
1,281 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hiya

What sort of weekly mileage is recommended if you want to run a sub-3hr marathon? 70-80ish? What ratio of normal runs / speedwork / hills / long runs? :huh: And how long would it take to build average speed up from about 7:15 / mile to 6:50 - 6:45 ish?:eek:

Thanks!

·
Registered
348 Posts
That's a tough one.

I'm no expert having done only one, but firstly I think you need to get your 10k speed down to 38:00 & half marathon to sub 1:25 to have a chance of sub 3hr. And even then you'll need to marathon train perfectly to break 3hr.

What mileage & training did you do for your last marathon?

·
Registered
1,281 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
1:33ish half marathon, about 45-55 miles per week 5 sessions / week on average; one or two speedwork / sand sessions per week. 3:24 finish time :cool:

·
Registered
348 Posts
Pretty impressive then! I would guess you will have to up your mileage to 70 to have a chance.

I quite like this site's ideas on Marathon training:

http://www.therunzone.com/TinmanMarathonTrainingPhilosophy.html

I started to train like this for my Marathon (2 longer sessions a week) but I got an injury at Christmas that keep me down to a 35 mile per week average. I will try to train like this for my next one though.

When are you planning your next one Katten?

·
Registered
1,281 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Amsterdam - October :cool: And maybe a 1/2 or full one here in Gdynia in July. But not aiming to hit sub-3 this year, just moving towards that goal.

Thanks for the help :)

·
Registered
348 Posts
No problem :)

I'm ultimately looking to break 3hrs too, but I probably won't be trying again until next year, race you to it ;)

·
Registered
4,962 Posts