Runners Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This might seem s stupid question, but here goes....

How fast do you have to be to participate in races ?. I have looked around on the web for races and have downloaded previous results to see the kind of times people are doing.

I am a beginner who plods along at just below 11 mins a mile. Looking at the longer races 13m and 26m you can see that in the popular races this is a time that will still be a long way from the tail enders.

That said I would really like to get some race experience and start of on some 10km races. Looking at the results from these it is obvious that they attract the "quicker" runners. My pace would mean a finishing time well past the time when most people would have packed up and gone home... :embarrassed:

Maybe my research isn't perfect :)

What times have other plodders registered for their first 10km runs ?.

Richard

·
Registered
20,654 Posts
The shorter the distance the quicker the field I've found. Hence I don't do many 5k, 5m or 10k races....more of a tortoise!
It doesn't matter how fast you are though...as long as you can finish within any stipulated finish time that is.
Our club runners will always wait to see the final club runner come in and as he/she is nearly always one of the backmarkers he/she is always appreciative and in fact gets more attention than the quicker runners.

·
Registered
3,190 Posts
Just go for it rkavanagh - it will give you something to focus on and eventually you will get faster.

Someone will always tell you that the 'party is at the back'.

·
Registered
813 Posts