Runners Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I'm about to start running as I can not motivate myself to go to the gym. My problem is that once I get in from work I can not be bothered going back out so the intention is to get up at 6am and go a half hour run before work. I have proper running shoes so looking for some advice for a complete novice and some motivational tips.

For info, i'm 5'9, 13.5 stone and looking to lose around 2 stone. How long can I expect it to take to lose this if i go out around 3 times a week...?

·
Registered
1,889 Posts
Hi there Paulie,

Welcome to the RF, i am still a novice myself so probably someone else can answer.

I know what you mean about motivation BUT i take my stuff to work and run in my lunch hour, OR i go gym in my lunch hour, on running nights i take my stuff with me to work and then change at work then run straight from work (NOT going home) IF i would go home i probably would not go out as much. (on rainy nights etc) this works well for me, and since running i have not missed a training session (part from holiday for 1 week).

Getting up and running at 6am would not work for me as i need energy to run that time of the morning and therefore need a good breakfast.

Have you run outside before ?? have you ever run or are you totally starting from scratch.

If your a total novice then you will have to do a walk/jog programme which i know a few members on here are doing or have done.

As for weight i know how you feel having dropped 4 stone myself and kept it off since 2000, its hard to say how long it will take to lose this as myself i have gained a few pounds since running.

·
Premium Member
6,618 Posts
Hi Paulie,
Welcome to the runnersforum!

If motivation is the issue then getting up a 6am might be a struggle, especially now that the mornings are getting darker again.