Runners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, I am attempting my first marathon (I hope) in Dublin in 7 weeks time. I have just had to take a week off running for a bit of calf trouble. I am worried now that it might be two weeks.

I have been training since July and I am 'reasonably' fit apart from that despite carrying a little too much weight.

Would any of you advise going ahead with the run even if I have to take two weeks out? I am hoping this only means missing out on one 'long run' during training and being able to cross train.

Any sage words for a very frustrated first timer?

PS I missed Belfast due to injury last year - a non-running related one too!! My mind is beginning to play tricks. Help:'(

·
Registered
277 Posts
I'm not sure I can offer any reasonably sage and proper advice, but I'll wish you luck. I'm doing the Amsterdam Marathon myself in six weeks time - it's my own first marathon. I started training in January, but have had to take varying times off for flu, tonsilitis, two broken toes (this one was due to nothing but football), a swollen ankle (was concerned I'd had a stress fracture), calf and shin problems and now a knee problem. I'm sure the combination and multitude of injuries is not entirely a coincidence (though may be something to do with the fact I've always being a hypochondriac at running) and perhaps because I'm either pushing myself too much or not warming up/down correctly. Anyway, I keep on going, and managed an 18-mile long run today and have managed to tinker my training about and am still just about on target.

·
Registered
2,437 Posts
Sorry to hear tha KD. look for alternative training like swimming, cycling, rowing to keep the levels of fitness up, I missed a week and a bit when training for my marathon and found the change of pounding the road for a short time whilst keeping up the exercise did me good.

Good luck.

·
Registered
20,654 Posts
Hi KD.