Runners Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first post. I am new to running and although still slow, building up my endurance at a pleasing rate. I am vegan & have been for the last 15 years. I believe that my diet will be fine for running as it is high in carbohydrates. Anyone got any experience of running on a vegan diet over a period of time?

·
Registered
166 Posts
Hi Lil, welcome to the forum.

I'm not a vegan but if you check the rabbit thread you'll see I started a lot of controversy by asking about the diet!

Watch out for the rest of the rabbit thread, my bit was the least controversial by far:d

·
Registered
6,493 Posts
Hi, and welcome to the forum lil :)

I've been vegetarian for just over 25 years and I can manage my diet quite well, even though I run long distance

Where do you get your protein from?
Your body will need more of the key nutrients as a runner to avoid illness and injury

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Hi, and welcome to the forum lil :)

I've been vegetarian for just over 25 years and I can manage my diet quite well, even though I run long distance

Where do you get your protein from?
Your body will need more of the key nutrients as a runner to avoid illness and injury
Mainly from pulses, tofu & wholegrains. I eat hummus most days and get through a decent amount of soya milk & soya yoghurt. Can you suggest a website where I can get more information about the key nutrients a runner mainly needs and the relation between nutrition & injury?

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Hi Lil, welcome to the forum.

I'm not a vegan but if you check the rabbit thread you'll see I started a lot of controversy by asking about the diet!

Watch out for the rest of the rabbit thread, my bit was the least controversial by far:d