Runners Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,
Am looking to enter my first 10k, luckily I have 2 in my area around the same time.
1 is a cancer research 10k, the other is called the Brooks Brighton 10k.
I'm guessing that the cancer research one is more of a fun run while the brooks one may be a bit more serious.
Given I'm a beginner but wanted to get serious, what would I be better off doing? Does it even make a difference?
Damo

·
Registered
1,317 Posts
Brighton 10k is pretty inclusive. Quick runners ( winner was 30.00 last year) but lots of less fast people too! Good event but fills up very quickly so get your entry in soon!

·
Registered
1,290 Posts
it is the best time when you start races - you see dramatic improvements without too much work...

i've done six races now and all of them have been local-ish races with less than 100 people in...

i'd recommend sticking to smaller races particularly for shorter races...

i pulled out of a 10k, i weren't up for it, but i've done enough 5 miles which is practically the same distance...

what i don't get is how i ran a 5 mile in under 34 minutes in february with five months running but it's taken me until august (another six months!) to start getting similar times in training!...

damo, running can become a bit frustrating at times, but i'm keeping at it for the moment... enjoy your race!...

·
Registered
4,962 Posts
what i don't get is how i ran a 5 mile in under 34 minutes in february with five months running but it's taken me until august (another six months!) to start getting similar times in training!...

damo, running can become a bit frustrating at times, but i'm keeping at it for the moment... enjoy your race!...