Runners Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi

I am a freelance journalist researching a feature for Runners World looking at the 'best' running routes around the country (ie hardest hill runs, best coastal paths, most interesting inner city route etc).

I am hoping you/your members might be able to recommend a route that fits the bill and, by consensus, fits a certain criteria like the above. I would be grateful if you have any suggestions for me to consider! If so please can you post some detail on here?
I am interested in:

- best what (ie coastal path etc):
- where:
- how far:
- distinguishing features:

I do need input by close of Monday (Nov. 20th) . I hope to hear from you and thank you in anticipation!
Best
Nicola

·
Registered
111 Posts
Here in Mid Argyll we are spoilt for choice on trail runs. One of my favourites is at Ardcastle Woods near Lochgair. Its a mixture of running on forestry tracks and paths. The route is about 5 miles with 700ft of ascent and takes you down to the shore of Loch Fyne with great views of the wildlife as you go. I regularly see deer, gannets, eider duck and once even a pod of dolphins playing though I couldn't keep up with them! The route leaves the shore and takes you past an old burial ground before returning to the car park. The Forestry commission are keen to welcome visitors to the wood and there's good parking and the route is waymarked with yellow markers.

Map of Ardcastle Wood

Its great for a Sunday run and an ideal route to have the dog running alongside. It's a perfect mix of great scenery and a challenging trail run. You can also choose to do the shorter red route 1.5 miles or blue route 3 miles or any combination of to build up the mileage.

Dave

·
Registered
18 Posts
Hi Nicola

Where I live in Norwich I try to vary my route as much as possible so I don't get too bored!!