Runners Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3,339 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Purely out of curiosity I was wondering what the main influence was to make you decide which marathon schedule to follow.
I'm still fairly new to marathon running and this will be my third.
I've decided to up my overall mileage on this occasion and am using an intermediate schedule as opposed to the novice I used in the past.
Do the more experienced marathoners amongst us stick to the same schedule every time or do you vary them?

·
Registered
20,654 Posts
I tend to go by my own schedule having looked at what I did before and comparing with schedules such as Hal Higdon's.
This time I intend to do hillwork/speedwork once a week to add some variety even though I hate it!

·
Registered
3,190 Posts
I believe for marathons n stuff there are different schedules for different times say for example if you are looking for a sub 4 hr - are you hoping to finish in a certain time Hotfoot?

·
Registered
1,797 Posts
Whilst being entirely self-coached I must admit to frequently dipping into Bob Glover's 'Competitive Runner's Handbook' which I acquired at a very early stage of my jogging/running career. Forget the word 'Competitive' in the title, it's a book for runners of all standards. It not only provided me with limitless knowledge, more than any coach could have given me, it forced me off my backside to get out there and do it. I never kept to it's recommended schedules, preferring to do what I thought best and within my limitations, to achieve my goals. What I mainly got from this book was inspiration, but the schedules are there for those who need them.
Amazon currently have it on sale at the reduced price of £7.50. Buy it. It could turn you into a world class runner.
Cheers!

·
Registered
9,640 Posts