Runners Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
16,223 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi :)
thinking very seriously about running my first marathon in October.
Would you like to share some of your impressions/feelings about your first? Or other marathons you've run?
I have never run more than 16.5 miles and have no idea what adding almost 10 more to it at a good pace can do...

:)

·
Registered
244 Posts
Bloody difficult, or so I've found. I think it was due to poor training though!

I'm also a beginner at marathons. First marathon I can't remember anything from 17-24 miles! Also 2hrs at halfway, 4h 24 finished.

Second marathon was a lot better but I actually started struggling earlier, but I think held it together quite a bit better. Halfway 1h 45, finish 3h 51

·
Registered
419 Posts
First marathon 4:20ish 2 for the first half, then the second half got longer...
Second 3:43 - 1:48 and 1:55....
Third 4:42 - 2 and 2:42 (this was in Brazil and very very warm!)
Fourth 3:46 - 1:51 and 1:55

I will do negative splits one day....

For me, the big thing about a first marathon (especially if it is a big city one like London, New York or Paris) is just experiencing it - don't overstress about making a time - aim to survive and enjoy it. Also don't feel rushed into entering your first one - take your time learning how to race 5k, 10k, and half marathons first. But this is advice I give rather than advice I take - FLM was pretty much my first race and I was dead focussed on sub-4...

·
Registered
220 Posts
First (and only so far) mara was FLM06. Was hoping for sub-4, got to half way in 1:58, was bang on target until mile 19 and then lost 10 minutes in 3 miles. Finished in 4:17. I loved every minute of it, even miles 19-22 when I was barely faster than the walkers and it felt like it would take days to finish. Got a second wind at mile 22 and really focussed on getting to the line.